Art Class 101: Trompe l’oeil

I’m taking an art class. Surprise! I don’t actually paint that much, however, I do love drawing- not realistically, I like *gasp* cartoons- and so I was like, Well heck, you need some more experience anyways! So now we’re here. This will be a series in which I will guide you on my fantastical journey learning about art, and all the artists out there will die of laughter about everything I’m doing wrong. This should be fun.

Small disclaimer: I’m in no way a professional, so you might be better off going somewhere else if you’re super serious about it. I’m just making this for fun. (;

The first subject: Trompe l’oeil. Fantastic! I just typed in French! Be very jealous of my mad skills. This art style was really pretty. Before we began, we were shown a bunch of examples, and it made my head hurt. For those of you who don’t know, Trompe l’oeil is an art style that tricks you into thinking the painting is actually, not a painting at all, but instead it’s actual, real life objects. My first impression was, Oh no, I’m going to do terrible painting this… Annnd…I did ok. Let’s be fair, I haven’t taken an art class in a long time, or is that an excuse? Drawing it was fun. I can draw ok. Initially, painting was fun too. Let’s be clear though- I’m pretty not ok on painting. It’s something I’ve been meaning to get better at. I had trouble mixing colors and creating even strokes. And staying inside the lines. But overall, it was pretty fun, and I did pretty good!

My tips:

  • Don’t spend that much time sketching it out
  • Before drawing your objects, lay them out on a board or a table or something.
  • If you can’t mix paints (*raises hand*) get a color wheel or something. I didn’t do this, but it would’ve helped probably.
  • Take your time! Don’t rush!
  • Be careful with your shadows.

Anyways, that’s just what I thought about the art style. If anyone had done Trompe l’oeil before, feel free to add tips down in the comments.

That’s all for now, bye!

Leave a Reply

