Things That Get Me In The Mood For Halloween

It’s the most wonderful time of the year, and no, I’m not talking about Christmas. It’s October! One of my favorite months of the year, October is my favorite for many reasons. Fall, sweaters, hot chocolate…But best of all, Halloween! Halloween is one of my favorite holidays because it literally celebrates all things creepy! And it’s basically a socially accepted form of cosplay! And makeup art! Anyways, here are a few of the things that get me pumped for Halloween.

1. Tim Burton Movies

If you don’t understand what I mean, I pity you. I really do. Tim Burton is the Halloween King, the Pumpkin King, if you will… Anything Halloween related without Tim Burton is a scam in my book. If it’s a creepy stop-motion film it’s probably Tim Burton. My favorite movie of his is definitely The Corpse Bride. The use of sudden color change and haunting music really up the creepy, along with the (insert professional word here without saying REALLY REALLY AWESOME AHHH) plot really makes this my favorite.

2. Over The Garden Wall

By far my favorite mini-series, Over The Garden Wall is a really well done cartoon. From the art-style to the color-palette, not to even mention the plot, Over The Garden Wall still haunts my dreams to this day. It’s villains and monsters are by far the creepiest cartoon creatures I’ve ever seen. It’s superbly done even when you take the creepy element away. It’s use of folk music and whimsical creatures just adds to it’s greatness. It has a very Autumn-y vibe to it. Just don’t watch it if you actually want sleep for the next few days. (I forgot to add it’s done by Cartoon Network)

3. Creepy Makeup Art

Makeup is a kind of hobby of mine. I like to experiment with it and try new things, so when Halloween comes along, I just kinda… “Oh HECK yes FAKE BLOOD”. Creepy makeup is really fun to do when you’re bored. There’s plenty of tutorials on Youtube too. One of my favorites to do when I’m bored is creepy doll makeup. It doesn’t need much effort and it’s a good boredom buster.

4. Porcelain Dolls

Dolls of any kind, really, however porcelain dolls just seem spookier. I actually have two on my desk right now. I’m a bit obsessed with dolls. A lot of people think porcelain dolls are scary, and I think making people slightly uncomfortable that they’re both watching me while I type makes it prettttttty spoopy. I don’t know why they creep people out, but it does give a creepy vibe to my desk.

5. Scary Books

Ah, books. I love books in general, but any book that can make me take a glance around the room(and in my closet…under my bed….) is probably going on my top ten. I love books that get me shivering and not-being-able-to-sleep-at-night-ing. One of them is Coraline, by Neil Gaiman. And Then There Were None, by Agatha Christie is also good for scaring you. Other good scary authors are R.L. Stone and Mary Downing Hahn.

6. The Costumes

All that cheap costume stuff everybody dislikes(Well…those who have experienced better dislike)? I love it. Going to a store and seeing piles upon piles of things only related to Halloween? It’s like a nightmare come true! All those cheap wigs? I’m drooling. It’s only after I buy it is when I realize…I spent to much money. Way to much money. And most of the stuff ends up not being on my costume. Oh well. Better start saving up for next year…

7. The Merch

I’m dying. I’m spending to much money on Halloween decorations, and it’s eating me alive. Oh well. You know how stores always have that one section filled with Halloween stuff? Oh yes. I stalk those places. I come in to buy some art supplies? Oh, nope, there’s a skeleton. And then I buy the skeleton. Yeah.

8. Creep Music

Spooky scary skeletons send shivers down your spine! 

9. The Food

Halloween sugar cookies. All the candy. Candy. 

10. Decorating

I’ve always dreamt of having a dry ice machine, but alas. I do not. But you can bet I will be throwing fake cobwebs everywhere. Spooky decorations will surround my door. And my room will be haunted from floor to ceiling. And it will be great.

There you go. Those are ten things that get me excited about Halloween!!! I hope you enjoyed it.

 

Leave a Reply

